WHAT FOOD DO YOU TURN TO FOR COMFORT?

Tiredness is my main trigger for mindless eating. That is because on my Hunger Scale, my heart hunger flips back to its default of reaching out for certain kinds of food for comfort.
canstockphoto21924510 (1)

For instance, my day started off well during which I chose a healthy nutritious breakfast and lunch. By 3 pm, I was feeling mildly peckish as this is the time of day that I usually flag energy-wise. I made myself a small fruit plate of bite-sized orange segments with a splatter of blueberries.

At 5:30 pm, I had pesto linguine and salad for dinner. By now, I was quite fatigued what with my reserve energy depleted from added (unavoidable) stress in my life at the time.

At 8:30 pm, my mouth and heart hunger switched into default mode of thinking that my body needed crunchy food. I usually don’t buy junk food, but my husband had bought those heavily seasoned, artificially orange-coloured ringlets from the Bulk Barn. Yeah, blame it on him!

I popped one in my mouth, when my cells and stomach and even my mouth hunger complained vehemently  about this poor choice. I immediately corrected the situation by choosing five Melba toast crackers with about 1 oz of cheese, followed by half a banana. Stomach hunger was at 6 on the Hunger Scale and felt quite satiated after that snack. Below were my scores before the snack.

Hunger Scale 1 to 10 (1 = least hungry, 10 = most hungry)

 Eye  Nose  Mouth  Stomach  Cellular  Mind Heart 
 6  6 9.5 6 6 9 9.5

What triggers cause you to indulge in emotional eating? What foods do you typically turn to for comfort? How do you score on the Hunger Scale just before you pop that food item into your mouth?

To learn more about Mindful eating see my post, Mindful Beginnings.    https://mindfulbitesblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/16/mindful-beginnings/

Leave a Reply

