THE MINDFUL EATING OF STEELBACK TROUT

Salmon Veg SteelbackI could happily live on seafood. Tonight stomach and cell hunger call for Steelback Trout. I was going to label this as the tastiest in the salmon family but then Google tells me it’s unquestionably not salmon, but trout. It looks like salmon and it tastes even better than salmon, but it’s not salmon. It’s Steelback Trout.

Hunger Scale 1 to 10 (1 = least hungry, 10 = most hungry)

 Eye  Nose  Mouth  Stomach  Cellular  Mind Heart 
 6  7 8 9.5 9.5  7 6

It’s dinner time and as you can see from my Hunger Scale, I’m pretty famished! My first impressions of tasting the trout is that the meat is naturally sweet and the texture flaky. The taste of the spinach on its own is not so great cooked on the grill, I’m discovering.

Mm, I love the earthy, sweet and creaminess of the forkful of new baby potato. Food cooked outdoors seems to make it taste more flavourful. Perhaps it engages all the senses, especially the nose, what with aromatic smoke permeating the air.  Slightly charred ribbons of zucchini on the grill is particularly delicious. I had parboiled the butternut squash finishing it off on the grill.

My favourite vegetable, by far, is onion, for without the humble allium cepa  most foods would be bland as bland could be. The magical caramelization that emanates from onions grilled outdoors (think public hot dog stand) immediately arrests the olfactory sense triggering the mouth to salivate like crazy.

Coming back to my trout and veggie meal,  my taste buds simply revel in the variety of textures and tastes – tartness of fresh lemon juice drizzled over the salmon, earthiness of potatoes, slight bitterness of spinach, natural sweetness of fish washed down by chilled tangy, light crispy Riesling with delicious fruity tones. I’m particularly partial to German Riesling from the Mosel region.

I have two little potatoes on my plate. My stomach is pretty full and tells me it doesn’t need those extra bites, so I leave them on the plate. I wait for about twenty minutes and check in with the senses. Mouth Hunger requests fruit. Mind and cell hunger approve because it’s a nutritious and healthy choice.

FRUIT PLATE

Fruit plate
The Japanese have a mindful way of cooking and serving their food, cut up into small, bite sized piece minimally arranged on the plate. Sushi comes to mind.

I’m inspired to slice the globe grapes in half, as well as the banana. The eyes take in the firm, rich claret grape skins plump with juicy flesh. I’m trying to figure out the smell of grapes. It is fresh but not strong. The banana has a distinct ripe aroma – not overripe and not under ripe. To quote Goldilocks, “Just right.” I munch on a banana disc first because it’s the most satiating.

The banana is delicious and wonderfully squishy mashed between my chompers. The grape is sensational as the sweet juice squirts over my tongue. My molars act as a grape press leaving just the chewed up skin behind. I spit the skins out as they tend to ferment in my belly. I don’t want to discharge any more methane gas into the environment than I need to!

New Zealand has cultivated the Kiwi Gold kiwifruit that I much prefer to the the more acidic green kiwifruit. I’m thrilled that they’re exported and available at some Canadian supermarkets.

An orange can be a wonderful eating experience when it’s sun-kissed and sweet. To me, it’s the most refreshing fruit for a sucrose fix as well as a palate cleanser. Now if only I can be mindful of this when I’m tempted to reach out for a sugary dessert.

Leave a Reply

