JEN’S JAZZED UP CREAM OF CHICKEN SOUP

I always keep a few cans of low fat cream of chicken soup handy in the pantry for when I need to whip up a meal for when Eye, Nose, Stomach and Cell hunger are close to tipping the Hunger Scale.

Hunger Scale 1 to 10 (1 = least hungry, 10 = most hungry)

 Eye  Nose  Mouth  Stomach  Cellular  Mind Heart 
 9  10  10 10 10  10  10

Early spring was still pretty nippy and my Cellular Hunger was definitely hankering after wholesome, hearty soup. We had come in from running errands in town and got home fairly late in the afternoon. As you can see from the above scale, I was ravenous!

IMG_3302My trusty standby Jen’s Jazzed Up Cream of Chicken Soup to the rescue. I begin most meals with sautéed onion and garlic, adding to this two strips of double-cured bacon (from my gourmet supermarket) cut into tiny pieces. This kicks the flavour up to a new intensity.

Then I add a teaspoon dried sage, 1 grated carrot, 1 cup of fresh corn kernels I had stripped from their cobs. Now to finish the dish, I add two cans of cream of chicken soup, 600ml chicken stock and 1 cup of milk. I mix all the ingredients together and slowly bring everything to a gentle boil. And voila, there’s my hearty, healthy, satisfying quick and easy supper. I serve the soup in my favourite vintage soup cup.

As a side, I toasted one slice of home-made (bread machine) whole wheat bread, spread it with a thin layer of butter and a quarter avocado sliced on top of it seasoning it with salt. Pepper makes me cough and splutter. The soup is a tad too hot on the tongue. I blow on the contents of the soup spoon and take my first sip. It’s mmm..mmm…good! I love the corn kernel texture against the smoothness of the creamy soup. I always enjoy corn with chicken. The onions, garlic and bacon are the main players that make the soup pop with flavour.

Now I bite into the avo-topped toast. My bottom teeth cut through the crusty bread making a delicious crunchy sound while the creamy avocado cools the roof of my mouth. I pay attention to the number of chews it would take to masticate my mouth’s contents. Twenty eight chews! As I chomp-chomp my eyes notice the still sparse lilac tree outside the window getting greener by the day. All my hungers are totally satiated and hope springs.

9 thoughts on “JEN’S JAZZED UP CREAM OF CHICKEN SOUP

    1. Thanks for your comment Julie 🙂 I bought a whole bunch of these on E-Bay! There’s something so homey and comforting about the shape and look of these cups. I love drinking or spooning soup from these cups.

      Like

Leave a Reply

